Senate Rules Committee Announces Senate Committee Changes

Monday, May 15, 2017

SACRAMENTO – The Senate Rules Committee today announced the following changes to Senate standing committees and their membership.                                                                                                          
Governmental Organization:
Appointed Senator Bill Dodd (D – Napa), Chair
Senator Steven Glazer (D – Orinda) remains a member of the committee.

Effective May 18, create the Committee on Insurance, Banking and Financial Institutions to replace the Committee on Insurance and the Committee on Banking and Financial Institutions, composed of 13 members. 
Appointed Senator Tony Mendoza (D – Artesia), Chair
Appointed Senator Ted Gaines (R – El Dorado Hills), Vice Chair
Added Senator Tom Berryhill (R – Modesto)
Added Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D – Stockton)
Added Senator Steven Glazer (D – Orinda)
Added Senator Ed Hernandez (D – Azusa)
Added Senator Ben Hueso (D – San Diego)
Added Senator Ricardo Lara (D – Bell Gardens)
Added Senator Holly Mitchell (D – Los Angeles)
Added Senator Mike Morrell (R – Rancho Cucamonga)
Added Senator Josh Newman (D – San Dimas)
Added Senator Anthony Portantino (D – La Canada Flintridge)
Added Senator Richard Roth (D – Riverside), filling all vacancies.

Statement from California Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León (D-Los Angeles), Chair of the Senate Rules Committee:

“The Senate is consolidating the financial service industries into a single committee to provide a more complete understanding of those industries and how they impact California consumers. I am very pleased to have Senator Mendoza lead that newly empowered committee.  His record protecting consumers and the most vulnerable in our society, and his passion for fair business regulation will serve the Senate and our constituents well.”