President pro Tempore De León Announces Rules Committee Appointments

Wednesday, August 03, 2016

SACRAMENTO – California Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León (D-Los Angeles), Chair of the Senate Rules Committee, has announced the following Rules Committee Appointments:

Audrey Dow, a Democrat from La Puente, was appointed to the Committee on Awards for Innovation in Higher Education. She is Senior Vice President of The Campaign for College Opportunity and is a member of the Princeton Interviewing Committee – L.A./SGV and the Mayfield Senior School Parent Board. Ms. Dow is a former member of the New Futuro Advisory Board and the College Summit California Advisory Board. This is a pleasure term without compensation, but the committee may reimburse her for necessary expenses incurred in the discharge of her duties.

The Committee on Awards for Innovation in Higher Education shall award funds appropriated in the Budget Act of 2016 ($25 million) to eligible community colleges for innovations that reduce the time it takes students to complete degrees and credentials or reduce the total cost of attendance for students, or both, through specified programs.

Alita Bernal, a No Party Preference from Los Angeles, was appointed to the Board of Psychology. She is Managing Principal of Urban Point, LLC, a marketing and business development company, and previously worked as Director of Marketing and Business Development at Marina Del Rey Hospital and as Community Relations Director at St. Vincent Medical Center. Ms. Bernal is a board member of Hollywood Presbyterian Medical Center Foundation and Camp Ronald McDonald. She previously served on the Community Redevelopment Agency’s Relocation Appeals Board and the American Heart Association. She also served as a founding member of Grupo Folklorico Macias. Her term end date is June 1, 2020 and compensation is $100 per diem and necessary expenses.

The purpose of the Board of Psychology is to license and regulate psychologists under the jurisdiction of Board of Medical Quality Assurance, Department of Consumer Affairs.